Friday, April 30, 2010

Track and Field Championship Preview

The 17th annual Centennial Conference Track and Field championship begins today at Swarthmore College with the multi-events and the 10K. And all eyes are on the Haverford men's and women's squads, as the Fords look to extend their championship streaks.

The Haverford men have won all 16 titles in the Conference's existence, but the Fords were defeated by Dickinson at the 2010 indoor championships. The Haverford women won their fourth consecutive Centennial championship last spring. The Fords will face challenges from Johns Hopkins, who finished second indoors, and Muhlenberg.

Some individuals to keep an eye on ... can Ursinus' Al Desiderio become the first male to repeat in the 100/200 since UC's Brandon Evans in 2005-06 ... can Muhlenberg's Alexandra Faust become the first four-time winner of the women's pole vault?

Defending Champions (Men)
100: Al Desiderio, Ursinus
200: Al Desiderio, Ursinus
800: Tim Schoch, Haverford
400 Hurdles; Brendan Kirk, Muhlenberg
3000 Steeplechase: Kent Pecora, Dickinson
Shot Put: Ryan Lino, Johns Hopkins
High Jump: Travis Youngs, Ursinus
Discus: Anthony Abbate, Dickinson

Defending Champions (Women)
200: Christina Neilson, Haverford
400: Alex Faust, Muhlenberg
1500: Laura Paulsen, Johns Hopkins
10,000: Laura Paulsen, Johns Hopkins
100 Hurdles: Eliza Reiss, Haverford
Pole Vault: Alex Faust, Muhlenberg
Discus: Jackie Freund, Haverford
High Jump: Nicole Cox, Swarthmore

Men's Top Performances
Women's Top Performances

No comments: